on criticism part 2

10 02 2010

My post from two days ago seems to have struck a chord in many people.

Thank you for all the email and DM’s and phone calls.

The response that was the most profound for me was from my Twitter friend Ward who goes by the twitter handle @vajrarock so I thought I would post it.

He quotes Robert Moore, a Jungian psychologist robertmoore-phd.com .

A SIGN YOU ARE GETTING BETTER IS WHEN YOU CARE LESS WHAT OTHERS THINK.”

For me, worth some contemplation…….

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 02 2010
frances kuffel

I’m a graduate of writing programs with the same process. A lot of the criticism comes from the ringing silence after someone has read or, I would imagine, any other presentation of work. We’re here to TALK so talk, no matter what you say…

It’s when the external critic speaks to what is most vulnerable in me or to my inner critic that I go quietly down the rabbit hole. Criticize my dog or my job performance, the former being my heart & the latter my terrified pride, & I want to curl up &…eat.

10 02 2010
Lindsey

Eek. I’m not getting better then. But I
care what different people think … That’s relevant maybe?!?

13 02 2010
Pip

absolutely! Who cares less, if you are conscious?

Leave a Reply

